How to Wipe the Phone Completely Before You Sell

By | December 28, 2017
Sponsored Links

According to a study, almost all hard disks found in the second-hand market have a large amount of private data from their old owner. A study conducted by Stahler Data Recovery says that most of the customers in India are not aware that old data can be retrieved in their old drive and phone. It is also necessary to delete data formatting along with formatting for data privacy.

Wipe the Phone

Tips, Before Selling Your Phone Must Erase Data

Before You Start Erase Data:

– Must Backup all your data, including contacts.
– Must log out from all service like email and social media, then clear the data from these apps if you can.
– Must remove the SIM card and any external storage such as a microSD card.

Erase Data From Android

If your phone runs on Lollipop 5.0 or later it may have factory reset protection (FRP) active. This feature makes the phone unusable by a new owner. For Example, they can’t activate it without entering a previously used Google account and password. You need to deactivate FRP if you plan to sell the device.

Step 1: Turn off any screen locks on your phone. For that, Go to Settings > Security or Lock Screen Security > Screen Lock and change the type to None.

Step 2: You need to remove your Google Account from the device. For that, Go to Settings > Users and Accounts, tap your account and then remove.

Step 3: Now you can wipe the device with a factory reset.

Here I have explained to you how to clear data on your Android phone, which begins with encrypting your device first through the Settings menu. Here you do not need any special tools, just simply press restore option within the settings.

Erase Data From iOS

If your Apply phone that supports iOS 5 or later then is included hardware encryption when you set a passcode. If you perform a erase using the method below then the encryption key is also overwritten, so it is very difficult for anyone who wants to recover the data.

Step 1: Before the start, the reset process, make sure to unpair devices like the Apple Watch and turn off Find My iPhone

For iOS 10.2 or earlier, Go to Settings > iCloud > Find My iPhone. Enter your Apple ID password if prompted.
For iOS 10.3 or later, Go to Settings > Your name > iCloud > Find My iPhone.

Step 2: Turn off and sign out all the services including the App Store and iMessage.

For your App Store, Go to Settings > iTunes & App Store > tap your Apple ID email address and then tap Sign Out.
For that iMessage, Go to Settings > Messages > toggle the iMessage option.

Now you sign out individually from any other linked services and apps, such as Facebook or Twitter.

Step 3: Sign out of iCloud completely. Go to Settings > iCloud and find Sign Out at the bottom of the page.

Step 4: Now Start wipe process. For that, Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. Confirm the selection.

Step 5: From your Apple account profile at appleid.apple.com, remove the serial number of the device.

You’ll Also Like:

How To Sync Any Windows Folder With Google Drive

How To Check Your Google And Facebook-Connected Apps

Sponsored Links